What Are Texas DWI Penalties If I Am Convicted?

Something has gone terribly wrong. You were pulled over after an officer suspected you were driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Now, you are facing DWI charges. You're not sure what penalties you may face if you are convicted, but you know they aren't good. You worry about your future, and wonder who you can trust as an attorney who will work hard, be honest with you and protect your future.

At The Maddox Law Firm, I, attorney Matthew Maddox, have helped countless clients in McKinney, Texas, and the surrounding area avoid or lessen DWI penalties. I understand how terrifying it feels to know that jail time is a possibility. Even if you've already served jail time, you want to avoid it at all costs.

Helping You Avoid Or Lessen Texas DWI Penalties

Texas has harsh DWI penalties, even for first-time convictions. The following are DWI penalties for first-time DWI convictions that I am dedicated to helping you avoid or lessen, giving you the best possible outcome for your case:

  • Jail time: You may spend three to 180 days in jail.
  • Fine: You may have to pay up to $2,000.
  • Driver's license suspension: You may lose your driving privileges for up to 90 days. If you refused to submit to a breath test at the station, Texas law states your license will be automatically suspended for 180 days.
  • Hefty fees for years: If you are convicted, you are required to pay $1,000 to $2,000 per year in driver's license renewal fees for the next three years.

Second-time and higher DWI penalties increase with each prior conviction.

Prepared To Advocate For The Best Possible Outcome

Contacting an attorney can not only give you peace of mind on what steps you should take next, but having a lawyer by your side who is skilled in Texas criminal defense and who is dedicated to your case can make a difference in your future.

Contact my office at 469-251-7976 or visit my contact page.